First was the Fellowship hall
Then we added the Education Wing
Then we completed with our Sanctuary
During the 1950’s, southeast Springfield experienced a significant residential development, and Presbyterian Church leaders began to explore the possibility of a new church to serve the area. In 1958 the Carthage-Ozark Presbytery responded by appointing a commission to arrange for the organization of the church. Offering their help, First and Calvary purchased land for the project.
On October 4, 1959, the official date of establishment for Covenant Presbyterian Church, there were 85 members; 71 of the 85 came from membership at First and Calvary. Wick Hutchison was chosen to serve as pastor, a unanimous choice of the Steering Committee.
The new congregation met early Sunday Mornings at Southern Heights Baptist Church on the corner of Seminole and Lone Pine. This arrangement continued until our own building, consisting of fellowship hall and education wing, was completed the summer of 1961. The young church grew and within two years, it became necessary to add on to the education wing.
We are grateful for the work charter member, Aileen Campbell, and her committee in compiling a record of Covenant’s early years.